A Brief History of the Samurai and of Iai-dō

Acknowledgement: The historical aspects of this article borrow heavily from Donn F. Draeger’s book Japanese Swordsmanship: Technique and Practice, published by Weatherhill in 1982 and now out of print.

**********

For almost twelve hundred years, Japan was ruled by a feudal system which was brought to an end by its own ruler. In less than a decade, the clans of Satsuma, Chōshū and Tosa together defeated the government of the Tokugawa to restore the rule of the Emperor. Following the slogan of sonno joi (“revere the emperor, expel the barbarians”), and inspired by the writings of scholar Motoori Norinaga claiming Japan’s spiritual superiority, the Meiji Restoration movement created one of the leading powers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries out of a formerly backward and feudal country.

This transformation started in July 1853 when the Admiral Perry’s fleet entered Edo (now Tokyo) Bay and demanded the government end its 250-year old seclusion policy and engage in international trade. In February 1854, the shogunate signed a treaty opening two ports to commercial American ships. Soon the foreign presence spread over several ports and cities and gave rise to a strong movement opposing the government’s capitulation and supporting the Emperor in Kyoto.

The young samurai from the Satsuma and Chōshū clans quickly understood that the only way to overcome the foreign superiority was to adopt radically new ways and to embrace modernization. They rejected xenophobia and conservatism to become the pioneers of a military and social revolution. As a consequence, the samurai class and the privilege of wearing a sword were abolished by 1876. However, the spirit of the sword did not disappear, and thanks to the efforts of Nakayama Hakudō Sensei it was transmitted to us through his teachings and his Musō Shinden Ryū Battō-jutsu style of training.

Admiral Perry’s blackships caricature

The Japanese sword in the shape and style as we know it today was probably born in the eighth century. According to legend, a swordsmith from the province of Yamato, employed by the emperor and called Amakuni, made the first Nihon-tō. In fact, the earliest swords found today can be traced back to the tenth century.

The making of blades of the highest quality developed over a period of several centuries to reach its peak during the Kamakura period (1192-1336) with the Chōshū school of swordsmiths.

After 1603, which marks the beginning of the long peaceful Edo period under the rule of the Tokugawa shoguns, the sword lost much of its use as a weapon, and declined in quality, as the emphasis shifted to aesthetics from practicality.

The word “samurai” comes from the verb “saburau”, meaning to serve, to wait on. Indeed, the first samurai were men at the service of horse-mounted bowmen who constituted the main warriors in tenth and eleventh century Japan. The samurai then took control of the country and in 1192 established the first bakufu (field headquarters) government in Kamakura. This form of government relegated the Emperor to a symbol devoted to court matters in Kyotō and remained in power until the 1868 Meiji Restoration.

Battle of Sekigahara (Oct. 1600)

Nevertheless, the country was wracked by civil war in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries as various local lords fought for control over the country until the Tokugawa bakufu was established in Edo in 1603 and ushered in an era of autocratic peace.

The strong rule imposed by the Tokugawa shogunate over the country was to have a major impact on the samurai class. Previously, samurai were primarily warriors. After 1603, they gradually transformed into bureaucrats at the top of a four-tier social system that stressed service and acceptance. The samurai came to rely more on Confucian philosophy to justify their status and to define the spiritual aspect of the warrior spirit.

 

Sujibachi Kabuto with Menpō (half-mask)

Sword training has always been practiced under two principles, ken-jutsu and iai-jutsu.
Ken-jutsu (also called heihō, kenpō, tōhō, gekken, tōjutsu, tachiuchi, hyodō…. In various times and schools) is the method of handling the sword once drawn of the scabbard, while iai-jutsu is the art of drawing the sword and cutting in one movement.

With the advent of the peaceful Edo period, the sword lost much of its functional value. The length of the daitō (the long sword worn hanging from one’s side) was shortened to a cutting edge of about two feet and the samurai started to carry it by placing it between the hip and the sash. Therefore, the method of drawing the sword changed.

Example of daitō or tachi

From the eighth century to the end of the fifteenth century, amid the unrest of the Ōnin wars, many sophisticated sword fighting forms developed. Very little is known of the various ken-jutsu and iai-jutsu schools of the time before Edo. The development of iai-jutsu (or battō-jutsu, tachiuchi, battō, iaido) is attributed to Hayashizaki Jinsuke Shigenobu (? c. 1546-1621), who came from Sagami Province, home of some of the greatest Japanese wordsmiths.

Jinsuke Shigenobu at the age of twenty-five is said to have traveled to Ōshū in the North of Japan, where he received divine inspiration while praying to the deity Hayashi Myōjin at Hayashizaki in Okura Village. This spiritual orientation is an important aspect in the devising of Jinsuke’s battō-jutsu art. In 1616, he is said to have journeyed again to the provinces. He was never seen again by those who knew him.

At first called Shimmei Musō Ryū, the sword-drawing art created by Jinsuke was renamed Shin Musō Hayashizaki Ryū and gave birth to many forms of battō-jutsu before becoming Musō Shinden Ryū as we know it today. The original techniques he invented and taught are unknown but they probably were simple, practical and designed for defensive purposes.

Statue of Hayashizaki Jinsuke Shigenobu

As listed by Draeger in his comprehensive history of the Japanese sword, the ryū lineage follows a clear line of sōke (head masters) until the eleventh leader :

Founder Hayashizaki Jinsuke Shigenobu
2nd sōke Tamiya Heibei Shigemasa
3rd Nagano Muraku Nyūdō Kinrōsai
4th Momo Gumbei Mitsuhige
5th Arikawa Shōzaemon Munetsugu
6th Banno Daemon no Jō Nobusada
7th Hasegawa Chikaranosuke Eishin (Hidenobu)
8th Arai Seitetsu Kiyonobu
9th Hayashi Rokudayū Morimasa
10th Hayashi Yasudayū Seisho
11th Ōguro Motoemon Kiyokatsu

After the demise of the eleventh sōke, a split in leadership brought two major branch lines: the Shimomura-ha and the Tanimura-ha. The first seems to have been the source for the Musō Shinden Ryū and the second later became the base for Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū.

Shimomura-ha Tanimura-ha
12th sōke Matsuyoshi Teisukee (Shinsuke) Hisanari 12th sōke Hayashi Masu no Jō Masanari
13th Yamakawa Kyūzō Yukikatsu (Yukio) 13th Yōda Manzo Yorikatsu
14th Shimomura (Tsubouchi) Mōichi (Seisure) Sadamasa 14th Hayashi Yadayū Masayori
15th Hosokawa (Gishō) Yoshimasa (Yoshiuma) 15th Tanimura Kame no J ōYorikatsu
16th Nakayama (Hakudō) (Yūshin) Hiromichi 16th Gōto Magobei Masasuke
17th Ōe Masamichi (Shikei)
Nakayama named no successor. The succession is uncertain or contested.

Inevitably, Jinsuke’s art was widely modified by its successive leaders, and almost all the descendant headmasters developed their own personal style of swordsmanship and even created ryū of their own.

The first successor to Jinsuke Shigenobu – Tamiya Heibei Shigemasa – founded the Battō Tamiya Ryū that developed into a formidable line of swordsmen who served the Ikeda and Tokugawa families.

Nagano Muraku Nyūdō Kinrōsai, the third headmaster, founded the Muraku Ryū.
The seventh headmaster was Hasegawa Chikara no Suke Eishin. He studied Hayashizaki Ryū under Nobusada, in Edo, during the Kyōhō era (1716-1735), and he gained a reputation of being an exceptionally highly skilled swordsman. He is known for developing many techniques, and he is supposed to have been the first to devise techniques performed with the cutting-edge up in the obi. He took his style back to the province of Tosa and called it Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū, and there it was preserved up until modern times. Eishin’s art of sword drawing became a vital factor in the education of the Tosa warriors who were to play a leading role in the overthrow of the Tokugawa.

The ninth sokei Hayashi Rokudayu Morimasa was in the service of the fourth hanshu (chief of a province) Yamanouchi Toyomasa and was a swordsman of the Shinkage Ittō Ryū . While living in Edo, he studied Shimmei Musō Ryū under the eight headmaster Arai Seitatsu Kiyonobu. He also studied under the direction of Ōmori Rokurozaemon Masamitsu, the founder of the Ōmori Ryū. By applying the seiza (formal kneeling seating) principle of the Ogasawara Ryū reishiki (etiquette) to the techniques from Eishin conditioned by the saya-no-uchi battō gohon, the five forms of sword-drawing technique of the Yagyū Shinkage Ryū, Masamitsu devised eleven techniques that Hayashi Morimasa later incorporated into Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū. This is what is known today as Shoden Ōmori Ryū.

After the Meiji Restoration and the end of the shogunate, classical martial culture was to be revived after wars with China (1894-95) and Russia (1904-05). The art of sword drawing became valuable as an educational form for a much larger part of the Japanese population.

The sixteenth headmaster of the Shimomura-ha, was Nakayama Hakudō (Hiromichi). A native of Ishikawa Prefecture, he had intensively practiced the art of swordsmanship in its various aspects: iai-jutsu (battō-jutsu), ken-jutsu and gekken (kendō). He studied Ōmori Ryū, Muraku Ryū and Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryū in the province of Tosa, under the direction of Hosokawa Yoshimasa, the fifteenth headmaster of the Shimomura-ha. He also studied under Morimoto Hoskushin of the Tanimura-ha. In addition, he trained under Terai Ichitarō of Shindō Munen Ryū and under Negishi Shingorō of Yamaguchi Ittō Ryū.

All these efforts and dedication to training led Nakayama Hakudō to the development of his own style of sword drawing, which he called Musō Shinden Ryū battō-jutsu (1932).
To the eleven techniques of Ōmori Ryū, Nakayama Hakudō added one, then Ōe Masamichi Shikei the seventeenth headmaster of the Tanimura-ha renamed them and coded them as shoden, the first level of study of Musō Shinden Ryū and of Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū.
Ten techniques taken from Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū were codified to form chūden, the middle level of study. A third level of study, okuden, or “secret” teachings, was developed from the Jinsuke line of teaching called oku-iai meaning “(entrance to) secret iai”.

Nakayama Hakudō

Nakayama Sensei called his style battō-jutsu, the school of drawing the sword, also called iai-jutsu in ancient terminology. It is only in the 1950’s that Nakayama Hakudō’s followers started to use the word iai-dō. Chiba Kazuo, an aikido eighth-dan shihan, who was himself a student of Mitsuzuka Takeshi, teaches the principles of drawing the sword under the name Battō-Hō.

Mitsuzuka Takeshi was a Kendo student when in early 1955 he saw an Iai-dō demonstration given by Nakayama Hakudo Sensei. He then entered Nakayama Sensei’s dojo and trained under him until Nakayama’s death.
Mitsuzuka Sensei is an 8th Dan Hanshi from the Japanese Kendo-Iai-dō Federation; he also holds high ranking positions in Kendo and Jodo.
He founded his own group, San Shin Kai, in the early seventies and has been teaching ever since at the Yotsuya Police Station Dojo in Tokyo.
Mitsuzuka Sensei has also taught seminars in France and in the US.

 

Mitsuzuka Takeshi

 

Musō Shinden Ryū Iai-dō in detail

 

back

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Des Samurai et du Iai-dō

Remerciements : La partie historique de cet article est largement inspirée du livre de Donn F. Draeger intitulé Japanese Swordsmanship: Technique and Practice, publié par Weatherhill en 1982 et aujourd’hui épuisé.

**********

Le Japon a vécu pendant plus de 12 siècles dans un régime féodal qui sera défait par ses propres acteurs. En moins de dix années, les clans de Satsuma, Chōshū et Tosa unis dans un même élan se débarrassent du gouvernement des Tokugawa et rétablissent l’autorité de l’empereur. Placé sous la bannière proclamant la vénération de l’empereur, halte aux barbares (sonno joi), et inspiré des écrits de Motoori Norinaga, chantre de la supériorité spirituelle du Japon, le mouvement pour la Restauration de Meiji va transformer un pays arriéré et féodal en l’une des plus grandes puissances mondiales du 20e et du 21e siècles.

Cette révolution commence en juillet 1853 quand la flotte de l’amiral Perry mouille dans la baie d’Edo (aujourd’hui Tokyo) et exige du gouvernement japonais la fin de sa politique d’isolement vieille de 250 ans et l’ouverture du pays au commerce international. En février 1854, le shogunat signe un traité autorisant l’ouverture de deux ports aux navires de commerce américains. Très vite, la présence étrangère est notée dans divers ports et diverses villes, donnant naissance à un mouvement d’opposition à la capitulation du gouvernement en place et de support de l’Empereur se trouvant à Kyoto.

Les jeunes samouraïs des clans de Satsuma et Chōshū comprirent vite que la seule façon de contrecarrer la supériorité étrangère était d’adopter des méthodes radicalement nouvelles et de s’ouvrir à la modernisation du pays. Ils décidèrent d’abandonner toute velléité de xénophobie et de conservatisme pour devenir les pionniers d’une révolution militaire et sociale. Par conséquent, la classe des samouraïs et le privilège que représentait le port du sabre furent abolis en 1876. L’« esprit du sabre » ne devait pourtant pas disparaître et il a pu nous être transmis grâce aux efforts de Nakayama Hakudō Sensei, son enseignement et sa forme de travail appelée Musō Shinden Ryū Battō-jutsu.

Caricature d’un bateau du Commodore Perry

Le sabre japonais, dans la forme et le style que nous lui connaissons aujourd’hui date probablement du 8e siècle. Selon la légende, le premier Nihon-tō aurait été fabriqué par un forgeron de la province de Yamato, au service de l’Empereur et appelé Amakuni. Les sabres les plus anciens qui nous sont parvenus datent toutefois du 10e siècle.

L’art de la forge au Japon s’est développé sur plusieurs centaines d’années pour atteindre son apogée pendant la période de Kamakura (1192-1336) avec l’école de forgerons de Chōshū.

Après 1603, date à laquelle commence l’ère Edo dominée par le shogunat des Tokugawa et qui constitue une longue période de paix, le sabre perd l’essentiel de sa valeur en tant qu’arme et voit sa qualité se dégrader au fur et à mesure que l’accent est mis sur l’esthétique et non sur l’usage pratique.

Bataille de Sekigahara (Oct. 1600)

Le mot samurai vient du verbe « saburau » qui signifie « servir ». En effet, les samurais étaient des hommes au service des archers à cheval qui, au 10e et au 11e siècles, constituaient l’élite de la classe des guerriers. Peu à peu, ces samurais prennent le contrôle du pays et en 1192 établissent le premier gouvernement bafuku (militaire) à Kamakura. Ce type de gouvernement va se traduire par la relégation de l’Empereur à un rôle limité aux affaires de la cour à Kyoto, rôle qu’il conservera jusqu’à la Restauration de Meiji en 1868.

Pendant le 15e et le 16e siècles, le pays est ravagé par une guerre civile qui oppose les divers seigneurs locaux luttant pour le contrôle du pays et qui se termine sur le triomphe des Tokugawa, le transfert du bafuku à EDO et l’établissement d’une période de paix autocratique.

Le régime autoritaire imposé au pays par le shogunat des Tokugawa allait avoir un impact majeur sur la classe des samourais. Jusqu’alors, les samourais étaient principalement des guerriers. Après 1603, ils se transforment progressivement en bureaucrates dominant un système social à quatre niveaux basé sur le principe de service et d’obéissance. Le samourai justifie désormais son statut et définit l’aspect spirituel de l’esprit du guerrier par le recours à la philosophie de Confucius.

Sujibachi Kabuto avec Menpō (demi masque)

La pratique du sabre semble s’être effectuée, de tout temps, selon deux principes, ken-jutsu et iai-jutsu.
Le ken-jutsu (ou encore heihō, kenpō, tōhō, gekken, tōjutsu, tachiuchi, hyodō…. selon l’époque et l’école), est l’art du maniement du sabre une fois celui-ci dégainé, tandis que le iai-jutsu est l’art de dégainer le sabre et de couper dans un même mouvement.

Avec l’avènement de la période de paix d’Edo, le sabre perd sa fonction principale. Le daitō (sabre long porté suspendu sur le côté), est raccourci à une longueur d’environ 60 cm pour sa partie tranchante et les samourais commencent à porter le sabre en le plaçant dans la ceinture du kimono, contre la hanche. En conséquence, la manière de dégainer le sabre va changer.

Exemple de daitō ou tachi

Du 8e siècle à la fin du 15e siècle, alors que les guerres dites d’Ōnin font rage, les styles de combat au sabre les plus sophistiqués se multiplient. Toutefois, on ne sait que très peu de choses des diverses écoles de ken-jutsu et iai-jutsu qui ont précédé la période d’Edo. Le développement du iai-jutsu (ou battō-jutsu, tachiuchi, battō, iaido) est attribué à Hayashizaki Jinsuke Shigenobu (environ c. 1546-1621), originaire de la province de Sagami où sont nés quelques-uns des plus grands forgerons du Japon.

À l’âge de vingt-cinq ans, Jinsuke Shigenobu aurait voyagé à Ōshū, dans le nord du Japon, où il aurait été frappé d’une inspiration divine en priant Hayashi Myōjin une divinité honorée au sanctuaire de Hayashizaki. Cet aspect spirituel joue un rôle important dans la création du style de battō-jutsu de Jinsuke. On dit qu’en 1616 il aurait entrepris un autre voyage dont il ne revint jamais.

D’abord nommé Shimmei Musō Ryū, l’art de dégainer le sabre créé par Junsuke fut rebaptisé
Shin Musō Hayashizaki Ryū et donna naissance à de multiples formes de battō-jutsu avant de devenir le style Musō Shinden Ryū qui est arrivé jusqu’à nous. Les techniques originales qu’il inventa et enseigna nous sont inconnues mais il est probable qu’elles étaient simples, fonctionnelles et conçues dans une optique défensive.

Statue of Hayashizaki Jinsuke Shigenobu

Dans son histoire de l’enseignement du sabre, Donn Draeger précise que la lignée du ryū se poursuit par une succession logique de sōke (grand maître) jusqu’au onzième d’entre eux :

Fondateur Hayashizaki Jinsuke Shigenobu
2e sōke Tamiya Heibei Shigemasa
3e Nagano Muraku Nyūdō Kinrōsai
4e Momo Gumbei Mitsuhige
5e Arikawa Shōzaemon Munetsugu
6e Banno Daemon no Jō Nobusada
7e Hasegawa Chikaranosuke Eishin (Hidenobu)
8e Arai Seitetsu Kiyonobu
9e Hayashi Rokudayū Morimasa
10e Hayashi Yasudayū Seisho
11e Ōguro Motoemon Kiyokatsu

À la mort du onzième sōke, la direction de l’école se scinde en deux branches principales : Shimomura-ha et Tanimura-ha. La première semble avoir été à l’origine du style dit Musō Shinden Ryū et la deuxième aurait constitué la base de Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū

Shimomura-ha Tanimura-ha
12e sōke Matsuyoshi Teisukee (Shinsuke) Hisanari 12e sōke Hayashi Masu no Jō Masanari
13e Yamakawa Kyūzō Yukikatsu (Yukio) 13e Yōda Manzo Yorikatsu
14e Shimomura (Tsubouchi) Mōichi (Seisure) Sadamasa 14e Hayashi Yadayū Masayori
15e Hosokawa (Gishō) Yoshimasa (Yoshiuma) 15e Tanimura Kame no J ōYorikatsu
16e Nakayama (Hakudō) (Yūshin) Hiromichi 16e Gōto Magobei Masasuke
17e Ōe Masamichi (Shikei)
Nakayama n’a nommé aucun successeur. La succession est incertaine ou contestée.

Fatalement, l’art de Junsuke va être considérablement modifié par ses divers successeurs et presque tous les maîtres qui ont suivi ont développé leur propre style et même parfois créé une nouvelle école à part entière.
Le premier successeur de Jinsuke Shigenobu – Tamiya Heibei Shigemasa – est le fondateur de l’école Battō Tamiya Ryū qui a donné naissance à une formidable lignée de guerriers au service des familles Ikeda et Tokugawa.

Nagano Muraku Nyūdō Kinrōsai, le troisième successeur est le créateur de l’école Muraku Ryū. Quant au septième successeur, Hasegawa Chikara no Suke Eishin, lui-même élève de l’école Hayashizaki Ryū sous la direction de Nobusada, à Edo, pendant l’ère Kyōhō (1716-1735), il est connu pour sa maitrise exceptionnelle dans le maniement du sabre. Il a développé de nombreuses techniques et il serait le premier à avoir créé des techniques exécutées tranchant du sabre tourné vers le haut. Après son retour dans la province de Tosa, il crée l’école Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū dont l’enseignement se poursuit encore aujourd’hui. L’art du sabre dans la conception de Eishin allait constituer un aspect vital dans la formation des guerriers de Tosa qui allaient jouer un rôle essentiel dans le renversement du shogunat des Tokugawa.

Le neuvième sokei, Hayashi Rokudayu Morimasa, au service du quatrième chef provincial (hanshu), Yamanouchi Toyomasa, etait un élève de l’école Shinkage Ittō Ryū. Pendant un séjour à Edo, il étudia les techniques de l’école Shimmei Musō Ryū sous la direction du huitième successeur, Arai Seitatsu Kiyonobu. Il étudia également sous la direction de Ōmori Rokurozaemon Masamitsu, le fondateur de l’école Ōmori Ryū. Il appliqua le système seiza (position à genoux formelle) du protocole (reishiki) de l’école Ogasawara Ryū aux techniques de Eishin agencées conformément aux saya-no-uchi battō gohon, les cinq formes des techniques de dégainage du sabre de l’école Yagyū Shinkage Ryū, Masamitsu mit au point onze techniques que, plus tard, Hayashi Morimasa inclura dans l’école Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū. Ces techniques constituent la série Shoden Ōmori Ryū.

Après la restauration de Meiji et la fin du shogunat, la culture martiale classique allait connaître un renouveau à la suite des guerres sino-japonaise (1894-95) et russo-japonaise (1904-05). L’art du maniement du sabre retrouva une valeur éducative, mais cette fois pour une partie beaucoup plus large de la population japonaise.

Le seizième maître du Shimomura-ha se nommait Nakayama Hakudō (Hiromichi). Originaire de la préfecture d’Ishikawa, il pratiqua assidument les divers aspects de l’art du maniement du sabre : iai-jutsu (battō-jutsu), ken-jutsu et gekken (kendō). Il étudia dans diverses écoles, notamment Ōmori Ryū, Muraku Ryū et Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryū dans la province de Tosa, sous la direction de Hosokawa Yoshimasa, le quinzième maître du Shimomura-ha. Il étudia également sous la direction de Morimoto Hoskushin du Tanimura-ha. Par ailleurs il travailla avec Terai Ichitarō de l’école Shindō Munen Ryū et avec Negishi Shingorō de l’école Yamaguchi Ittō Ryū.

Ce travail assidu et cet engagement total conduisirent Nakayama Hakudō à développer son propre style de maniement du sabre qu’il nomma (en 1932) Musō Shinden Ryū Battō-Jutsu.
Il ajouta une nouvelle technique aux onze techniques de Ōmori Ryū avant que Ōe Masamichi Shikei, le dix-septième maître du Tanimura-ha, leur donne un nouveau nom et les regroupe sous l’appellation de shoden ou premier niveau d’étude des styles Musō Shinden Ryū et Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū. Dix autres techniques empruntées à l’école Musō Jikiden Eishin Ryū furent codifiées pour former chūden, le deuxième niveau d’étude. Un troisième niveau appelé okuden ou enseignement « secret» fut développé à partir du style d’enseignement de Jinsuke appelé oku-iai ou « (entrée dans le) secret (du) iai ».

Nakayama Hakudō

Nakayama Sensei donna à son style le nom de battō-jutsu, ou école de maniement du sabre, alors que l’ancienne terminologie parlait de iai-jutsu. Ce n’est que dans les années 1950 que les élèves de Nakayama Hakudō commencèrent à utiliser le mot iai-dō. Chiba Kazuo, un aikidoka 8ème dan, qui fut lui-même élève de Mitsuzuka Takeshi, enseignait les principes du maniement du sabre sous le nom de battō-hō.

Mitsuzuka Takeshi était un pratiquant de kendō quand, au début de l’année 1955 il assista à une démonstration de iai-dō donnée par Nakayama Hakudō. Il devint alors son élève et le resta jusqu’à la mort de Nakayama Sensei.

Mitsuzuka Sensei était un 8ème dan Hanshi de la Fédération Japonaise de Kendō/Iai-dō ; il est également hautement gradé en Kendō et Jodō.
Il a fondé son propre groupe, appelé San Shin Kai, au début des années 1970 et il enseignait dans le dojo du commissariat de Yotsuya à Tokyo.
Mitsuzuka Sensei a également dirigé de nombreux séminaires en France et aux États-Unis.

Mitsuzuka Takeshi

 

Musō Shinden Ryū Iai-dō en détail

 

retour

Laisser un commentaire