Part III – My First Year in England – Vol.4: The End of the First Year

The End of the First Year I went to see the man in charge of Sunderland Physical Education (SPE) whom I had met once before through Mr. Logan. Although he was no longer active, I had been told that he was an Aikidoist who had led an SPE-sponsored group of practitioners that was loosely associated … Continue reading Part III – My First Year in England – Vol.4: The End of the First Year

PART III – My First Year in England, Volume 3: Nothing is Working

Nothing is working ... As the days crawled by, I became increasingly more agitated and angry with my situation: There had been no change, no news from Mr. Logan regarding the progress of a dojo for me and no contact from any Aikido schools or other dojos in the country. I felt I was being … Continue reading PART III – My First Year in England, Volume 3: Nothing is Working

PART III – My First Year in England, Volume 2: A Hopeless Political Mess

A Hopeless Political Mess In late June 1966, about two months after my arrival in England, a long-awaited meeting between Mr. Logan and myself took place with the help of a Mr. Kimura, a Japanese interpreter and corporate man for Common Brothers Inc. – the company for which Mr. Logan was executive officer. It was … Continue reading PART III – My First Year in England, Volume 2: A Hopeless Political Mess

PART III – My First Year in England, Volume 1: At the Logans

My arrival at Heathrow Airport in London on May 5, 1966, signaled the end of my six-week journey. However, the troubles associated with that journey were not over yet, as I quickly encountered problems concerning my immigration status. After my luggage had been thoroughly turned inside-out, I was removed to a separate room to be … Continue reading PART III – My First Year in England, Volume 1: At the Logans

PART II – En Route to England, Volume 3: Troubles before Arrival

As the island of Singapore came into view off the starboard deck of the Al-Sabbiyah, the climate of the Indian Ocean became unbearably hot and humid. The most comfortable spot I could find outside of my cabin was on the bow of the ship, where the rain of moisture from the surge of the waves … Continue reading PART II – En Route to England, Volume 3: Troubles before Arrival

PART II – En Route to England, Volume 2: Training on Board the Al-Sabbiyah

The temperature rose rapidly with each passing day as the Al-Sabbiyah continued southward. Soon after we entered the South China Sea, the heat became so intense that the crew was compelled to turn on the air conditioning in the cabin. The view from the deck showed nothing but a vast, boundless ocean below a sky … Continue reading PART II – En Route to England, Volume 2: Training on Board the Al-Sabbiyah

PART II – En Route to England, Volume 1: Leaving Japan

I left the port of Sasebo, Nagasaki Prefecture, Japan, on March 28, 1966, on a six-week voyage across the sea to England. I was the sole passenger in the first-class cabin on board the Al-Sabbiyah (“Little Princess” in Arabic) – a 35,751-ton Kuwaiti oil tanker that was leased to a British company based in Newcastle, … Continue reading PART II – En Route to England, Volume 1: Leaving Japan

PART I – The Hombu Dojo Years

In early 1957, when I was a Judo student, I got myself involved in a personal duel with a kendo man. He beat me up severely, without my even being able to touch his body. The experience taught me an important lesson as a martial artist: As long as I relied on grabbing an opponent, … Continue reading PART I – The Hombu Dojo Years

3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 4: Fin de ma première année

Fin de ma première année Je décidai de rendre visite au responsable de l’Éducation Physique de Sunderland (Sunderland Physical Education ou SPE) que M. Logan m’avait présenté quelque temps auparavant. Il avait déjà pris sa retraite mais je savais qu’il avait pratiqué l’Aikido et qu’il l’avait enseigné dans le cadre de la SPE, plus ou … Lire la suite 3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 4: Fin de ma première année

3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 3: Rien ne marche

Rien ne marche ... Plus les jours passaient, plus je devenais nerveux et plus ma colère grandissait. Ma situation n’avait changé en rien, M. Logan ne parlait plus de l’ouverture éventuelle d’un dojo et je n’avais aucun contact avec les autres écoles d’Aikido ou les divers dojo du pays. J’avais l’impression d’avoir été mis délibérément … Lire la suite 3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 3: Rien ne marche

3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 2: Un imbroglio politique consternant

Un imbroglio politique consternant Fin juin 1966, environ deux mois après mon arrivée en Grande-Bretagne, M. Logan et moi-même pûmes enfin nous réunir et discuter grâce au concours d’un certain M. Kimura, un interprète Japonais, membre du personnel de la société Common Brothers Inc. pour laquelle M. Logan travaillait. C’était la première fois que je … Lire la suite 3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 2: Un imbroglio politique consternant

3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 1: Chez les Logan

À mon arrivée à l’aéroport de Heathrow, à Londres, le 5 mai 1966, mon long voyage de six semaines prenait fin. Je n’étais toutefois pas au bout de mes ennuis et, à peine débarqué, j’allais me trouver confronté à de nouveaux problèmes, avec les services d’immigration cette fois. Après un contrôle minutieux de mes bagages, … Lire la suite 3ème PARTIE – Ma première année en Angleterre, Volume 1: Chez les Logan

2ème PARTIE – En route vers l’Angleterre, Volume 3: Une fin de voyage mouvementée

Avec à l’horizon de l’Océan Indien l’île de Singapour, au tribord du Al-Sabbiyah, la température et l’humidité sont devenues insupportables. Le seul endroit à peu près tolérable hors de ma cabine était la proue du navire où les embruns libérés par les vagues venaient rafraîchir ma peau brûlée par le soleil. J’y passais des heures … Lire la suite 2ème PARTIE – En route vers l’Angleterre, Volume 3: Une fin de voyage mouvementée

2ème PARTIE – En route vers l’Angleterre, Volume 2: Aikido à bord du Al-Sabbiyah

Alors que le Al-Sabbiyah continuait sa route vers le sud, la chaleur est devenue de plus en plus oppressante. Peu après notre entrée dans la Mer de Chine Méridionale, elle est devenue telle que l’équipage a mis en route la climatisation des cabines. Depuis le pont, le seul paysage était celui d’une immense étendue d’eau … Lire la suite 2ème PARTIE – En route vers l’Angleterre, Volume 2: Aikido à bord du Al-Sabbiyah

2ème PARTIE – En route vers l’Angleterre, Volume 1: Départ du Japon

J’ai quitté le port de Sasebo, dans la préfecture de Nagasaki au Japon le 28 mars 1966, pour entreprendre un voyage maritime de six semaines en direction du Royaume-Uni. J’étais le seul passager dans la cabine de première classe du Al-Sabbiyah (littéralement « Petite princesse » en arabe), un pétrolier koweïtien de 35 751 tonnes … Lire la suite 2ème PARTIE – En route vers l’Angleterre, Volume 1: Départ du Japon

1ère PARTIE – Les années Hombu Dojo

Au début de l’année 1957, alors que je pratiquais le judo, j’ai eu une altercation avec un kendoka. Il m’a donné une bonne correction sans que j’aie la possibilité même de le toucher. J’ai reçu ce jour-là une leçon intéressante pour un pratiquant d’arts martiaux : battre un opposant en tentant uniquement de le saisir … Lire la suite 1ère PARTIE – Les années Hombu Dojo

UNE VIE DÉDIÉE À L’AIKIDO

Le 5 juin 2015, T. K. Chiba Shihan s’est éteint dans sa maison de San Diego, la ville le plus au sud de la Californie, à la frontière avec le Mexique, où il vivait depuis 1981. Avec lui disparaissaient une certaine idée de l’Aikido et de la manière sinon de l’enseigner, en tout cas de … Lire la suite UNE VIE DÉDIÉE À L’AIKIDO